Religion and Divorce

06Aug09

I have invited advice and console from those reading this blog.  Many of you have found your solution in the church.  I’m going to go ahead and infuriate some folks here and speak directly to those who would offer religion as a solution.  Religion is not a solution, it’s a lie.  Religion is nothing more than a business, selling belief in a higher power, and a set of rules that will get you where you want to be in the afterlife.  The way I see it, if you have faith and morals, you don’t need religion.  If you need religion, your inner faith and morals are too weak to carry them on your own.  Religion is for the weak spirited, and I don’t consider myself weak.

To clarify, I do not reject God.  I believe that there is a higher power out there.  I choose to define God as the final answer to the question “Why?”.  To clarify, let me remind you of when you were a child.  Invariably, every child goes through a phase where he wants to know why something is the way it is.  Adults can explain until they’re blue in the face why something happens, but the child can continually ask, “Why?” and not get a final answer.  “Why is the sky blue?”  “Because it’s full of water vapor, which refracts the blue spectrum of light.” “Why?”  Eventually it gets to the point where you can’t explain it, and eventually, everything gets to the point where nobody can explain it.  It’s just the way it is.  And why is that?  I defer that to the only one who can answer it…

I do reject the church.  I have no need for it.  I was a good Christian soldier for 18 years.  I was baptized Lutheran.  I went to a Catholic School and had my first confession.  I was confirmed Presbyterian.  I’ve studied Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, and several Native American religions along the way.  No single religion has all the answers, but they all have one thing in common.  They all teach that there is something greater than man, and that people should be good to each other.

So I guess I should make my point now.  Like I said, I invite my readers to give me advice and council on my failing marriage.  However, please do not advise me to seek council in the church or in God.  I’ve looked for my answers there, and not found them.  I’m looking for real, practical advice, not divine inspiration.



No Responses Yet to “Religion and Divorce”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment